H1B - RFE

L3K

Hi All,

I need some guidance in answering my H1b rfe.

I got two questions in my RFE

1) Prove that my occupation is a speciality occupation?

2) Why i should be considered for H1b when my undergraduation is unrelated to my profession

Regarding the question number 1 , i think the confusion was due to a bit generic job descritpon given by employer during H1 filing. Actually the job is in information security. Based on the detailed job descriptoin given by my manager i am sure the attorney can draft a very good response for the question 1.

My doubts and fears are related to question number 2.  I have a B.Tech in a filed that is not related to IT in any way. After B.Tech i learnt programming and worked as a software engineer for 3 years.. Then i came to US and did a masters in Management Information Systems (MIS) in a well recognised and accredited university.  I worked for 3 years in information security field on OPT, OPT-STEM and H1. Now i got the RFE on my H1 transfer application.  

USCIS seem to have totally ignored my masters degree and focused their question on my bachelor degree.

Even my attorney is not sure why would USCIS ignore a relevant masters degree and focus on a unrelated bachelor degree.

If anyone had a similar experience or guidance on how we should approach this RFE. Thank you in advance.

USCIS seem to have totally ignored my masters degree and focused their question on my bachelor degree.

Even my attorney is not sure why would USCIS ignore a relevant masters degree and focus on a unrelated bachelor degree.

It happens sometimes, maybe that officer didn't saw your master's degree. Anyhow, that's simple RFE to respond.

I find it really strange that my team members working on same technology and skill never got an RFE but I got one. And my RFE content was SOW, a added declaration of availability of work and an organization chart. Nothing to do with my skills or education. So how is RFE decided upon. Is it random?