H1B Stamping Toronto May 1 - Administrative Processing 221G Yellow

saladin2012

Hi,

I went for my first H1B stamping on May 1st at Toronto. 8 AM appointment, everything completed by 9:30AM.

I work direct full-time for a local/county government hospital. Education is related to the job duties. (public health field)

All documents carried and nothing missing.

*I have a Muslim name but not a "common" Muslim name.

White lady visa officer.

Interview lasted 3-4 minutes, just asked me a couple of questions like:

1) Where do you work?

2) What duties do you perform?

3) Studied where and what? (I did my masters in US).

Most of the interview time was spent in her typing stuff into her computer & probably waiting for stuff to load on her computer.

Did not ask to see any documents or employer letter or anything.

After the questions and typing stuff into her computer. She mumbled, "I am approving your visa but we need some additional administrative processing, this can take 2 weeks to 2 months and you will be informed by email." Gave yellow 221G.

Returned the passport and i797, kept a copy of i797 nothing else.

I left Toronto already as I had other travel plans.

--- Staying in Toronto ---

I stayed at the economical shared accommodation provided by one of the forum users here. The place is nice, in between the airport and the consulate. They provide airport pickup, food, internet, consulate drop off and airport dropoff too. Very helpful folks.

If you are going to Toronto for stamping, ask if they have accommodation available for you, his username is dba.qadir *********** on this forum and the same email address for inquiries. Search for the user on this forum and find their other posts and testimonials if needed, I recommend them.

Case status is in admin processing when I checked the CEAC website today morning, status last updated since May 1.

I am expecting 4-8 weeks for this process, but I know a lot of cases are pending approval since several months.

Thanks