Urgent*** On OPT and currently applying for H1B, have another offer, and want to switch!!!

kturkoglu0701

I will try to be very concise and precise, and will do my best to explain the situation as short as possible to take less of your time:

I am a recent graduate with my PhD degree and I am on my OPT until Sept. 04.2013. I am currently employed under my OPT in a (industry) company, and they are going to send the H1B application with a "premium process" this Friday, on March 29th, 2013 so that it can be processed by USCIS on April 1st, 2013.

I also received an offer from a university as an Assistant Professor and I accepted the offer with a start date August 19th, 2013.

My problem is since I am on OPT, I cannot quit my (industry) job now and afford to be unemployed for more than 3 months (April - August more than 4.5 months gap ). As I mentioned, my current (industry) employer will apply for me for H1B tomorrow, which will destroy my OPT status (I believe there is no way back from H1B to OPT). And since I didn't tell my current employer yet about my university employment/offer/acceptance, they will not stop the process and will apply. But since I also accepted the offer from the university, I also need to apply for H1B under the university again somewhere in summer.

My concern is that, if USCIS, sees multiple applications for H1B in a very short amount of time for the same person (me), from two different employers, that may put me in trouble, and I am afraid of loosing my work-permit-rights in US, and honestly I do not want to waste my chance to become a full professor at the U.

This is the point where I need help:

- What should I do?

- Should I stop my current (industry) employer to apply for H1B?