Leave of Absence..medical insurance

llateef

Hello,

I am a civil engineer, in the 7th year of my H1. My company laid me off this week due to lack of projects. They said they will offer me a 3 month leave of absence and keep the job open while I look for another employer so I will not have problems when I transfer my H1 to my future employer. So the idea is if I get a new job after say 2 months I can provide the leave of absence letter in place of missing pay stubs.

They mentioned extending the absence to 3 more months if needed. So essentially I lost my job and medical benefits but the job is still open since I am taking only a leave of absence.

Is this situation better than them laying me off cold and revoking my h1?? Is my understanding of the situation wrong here? Am I out of status, irrespective of having a leave of absence? (BTW, the leave of absence say that employer is granting me 3 months absence owing health and family reasons, I did have major health problems in 2011 and 2012 but not as of right now)

Also, I live in California with my wife (H4) and US born daughter (6 months). My insurance is good until end of February, but from March 1st, I will lose my health benefits. In California, there is something called "Medi CAL" health coverage, Can I make use of that service for my daughter? How about the whole family?? Can I sign up for this service while looking for a job?

Also, there is a very slight chance that my employer may offer me the job back with no benefits though, as he somewhat knows about the troubles h1 employees goes through. So If I get the job back, but with no benefits, Is it probably okay to sign up for MediCAL benefits, then?

Please respond ASAP. Thank you guys.