GC Taxes

randb

I'm trying to decide if I want to get a GC or not. Hoping someone could answer a tax related question for me. Say I have $1000 invested in a penny stock and they come up with a cure for cancer and my stake is worth 100 million. Can I give up my GC, move out of the country, liquidate my position and pay no taxes on the gains? From what I remember, foreigners are not taxed on capital gains in the US. Also, does this apply to dividends as well? How about an ownership stake in an LLC? Do the same rules apply? Once a person gives up their permanent residence and moves out, are they liable for any taxes in the future? How about US citizens renouncing their citizenship?

I'm currently on H1B...

I am currently a resident for tax purposes. I guess I'll have to talk to a CPA or a tax attorney. My company is looking to sponsor me for a GC and I'm not sure I want it because of the tax liability it might come with. It's in EB3, but if CIR passes, it looks like they will expedite all current cases.

The way I look at it, I got no benefit out of the 16 trillion in debt this country racked up, so I want no part in paying it off.

You are physically present here. It must be a better place to live than your home country so you have benefited from it. If you do not want to pay the bills, go home. We don't need people whose commitment to the country is only when it benefits themselves. You are a taker.

First of all dividends and interest payments are not exempt from US taxes for non-resident investors or entities. Also, when you are an offshore investor, taxation depends on the where your offshore company or entity is. US usually taxes the lower of 30% or tax treaty rate for dividends and interest payments. (Profits from an LLC are treated as dividends). In case of capital gains, it will be taxed by the domicile of the offshore entity. To avoid capital gains you might have to incorporate a company in a country that has no capital gains taxes.