H1-B Stamping Tips

boilerdam

Hi All, I just became a member here and replied on a few threads immediately. I am now on an H1-B approved visa but haven't gotten it stamped yet. I graduated with an MS in Fall 2010 and started working soon after. I work directly for a company [medium sized, 200 employee company] and I don't think I'm in the EVCC/EVC model since I don't work for a middle-man/vendor/client etc. Am I right in assuming so? Just an FYI, I'm the only non-US citizen in the company.

My H1-B was applied as soon as I started working (Jan 2011) and was approved within the normal application approval time. I have not traveled outside the US since summer 2009. All my documents & my situation seems to be pretty straightforward and everything in order.

I'm looking to visit India in June and therefore, want to get my visa stamped before returning. Since that time is the main rush period for students coming in for Fall 2012, I want to avoid that and go to Vancouver in the next couple of weeks, preferably within April 20th. Am I correct in this line of thinking? Also, I've been reading threads that talk about experiences in the Vancouver consulate. How bad is it and how good/bad would it be for me? Thanks! Any help/tips would be appreciated.

If you're a direct and full-time employee with your documents in order, no problem. Contact your immigration law firm (and if possible, the consulate) ahead of time to confirm the PIMS status for your application - this avoids delays. IMO, anywhere in canada is better than stamping in india. Go forth with confidence for the interview - you should be fine.

1. This is a link to my stamping experience in Vancouver - http://forum.murthy.com/index.php?/topic/33601-successful-h1b-stamping-vancouver-feb