Need help in choosing F1/CPT vs AOS/EAD to use for internship

h4_usa

Last week, I got my EAD/AP combo card valid for 1 yr. (I am derivative on my husband's I-485 and we got current in Jan'12). I am an F1 fulltime student. I am giving interviews for summer internships and have below questions assuming i get a job offer...

1. Should i use my 485 based EAD or apply for F1 based CPT. What are the pros/cons ? I know i get a credit when i use my CPT. Will i get it even if i use EAD ?

2. I do not have SSN since i have never worked in the US before (came on H4 and did a COS to F1 last yr. Havent moved out of country so far and still have H4 stamp in PP). I guess i need an SSN before i can start working. What is the procedure to apply for one ?

3. Tax : If i use my EAD, do i need to pay SS taxes? On F1/CPT, i think i dont have to.

Would be really helpful to get insights from experienced members here.

Thanks,

Technically, you may continue on OPT until its expiration. You can't renew your F1 or OPT once you are in AOS. You need to ask the payroll people to remove your SS taxes. It's really hard to have them reimbursed through a tax return. As far as SSN goes - google it.

Belle,

OPT does not apply for me since I still have a semester to go. I was talking about using a CPT.

The qn really is : Should i use my EAD that i have received based on my pending 485 or apply for a regular CPT from college? Since i have these 2 options, i want a guidance on which is best to use.

For CPT you need to have a Employer Letter, with EAD (AOS) you don't need any letter. Even finding job would be lot easier as many companies are reluctant to give any letter atleast for training purposes.

Also if the company wants to hire you, CPT might not last for more than one semester, why loose an oppurtunity ?

Keep it straight & simple, go for EAD.