Re-opening H1B after changing back to F1

shalikram

Hi Murthy Experts

I just need a general idea about this process works

I was on F1 when I came to US in 2003. In 2006 I was granted H1B(courtesy of my employeer) and I started working until Feb 2009 under H1B category. Then I lost my job and subsequently changed my status back to F1 ( via change of status).

Now I graduated and on OPT and recently started working and my employeer is willing to file my H1B.

My question is since I didnt use up 3 years of previous H1B term. How do I go about applying for my H1B now. does I come under same quota?. Say if My employer files my H1b on April 2012, and upon approval when will my start date be ( October??).

Any information on this whole issue will be highly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hi Murthy Experts

I just need a general idea about this process works

I was on F1 when I came to US in 2003. In 2006 I was granted H1B(courtesy of my employeer) and I started working until Feb 2009 under H1B category. Then I lost my job and subsequently changed my status back to F1 ( via change of status).

Now I graduated and on OPT and recently started working and my employeer is willing to file my H1B.

My question is since I didnt use up 3 years of previous H1B term. How do I go about applying for my H1B now. does I come under same quota?. Say if My employer files my H1b on April 2012, and upon approval when will my start date be ( October??).

Any information on this whole issue will be highly appreciated.

Thank you!

If your H1 B approval goes through, you can start immediately.

Murthy FAQ

Question 10. I was in H1B status and changed to F-1 status. I am now ready to work in H1B status again. Do I get six more years in H1B status?Top

No. The six-year clock in H1B status is not reset unless one leaves the United States for at least one year. As a result, the time previously spent in H1B status will be counted against the six-year H1B limit.

©MurthyDotCom