Working in India while on H1B.

dilipzin

Probably this is already asked and answered, but there could be some tweaks.

So, I am working for US employer at US Client's location on H1b visa. I had to travel to India for personal reasons for 3 weeks in Nov' 11. With my extension approved I went for stamping and got a 221g (green). 2 weeks later I submitted the required documents. (Around 2 months later) As a follow-up I got a phone call from US Embassy today. It more of sounded like an interview. She asked me lot of questions, I was able to answer promptly.

One question that was asked worries me is:

Interviewer: You are in India since Nov'11, are you working from here.

Me: Yes, I work occasionally.

My question now is:

1) Does that answer gets my H1b rejected? Am I allowed to work from India without violating any terms of LCA or visa.

2) If working remotely is not a problem, how long would it take for my visa to be approved (considering it is in 221g)?

Thanks

Dilip

Does your US company have an office in India?

<Dilip> No.

Do you have remote working option and can your company provide that in written if questioned further?

<Dilip> The client does allow working remotely (Half of its employees work remotely). I got permissions to work from India. Employer does not have any specific rules for that. I think I should be able to get it in writing from both.

What was the officer's response when you said "occasionally"?

<Dilip> She did not say anything. But it sounded like she was trying to judge 'how come I have a job when I have been in India for more than 2 months'. (I could be wrong though)

Another Update: I got an email from VFS with below content