PhD completion vs EB-1 green card

tttt

I am about to complete my PhD in a US university and will join a large corporation in California next year. My managers have told me that my position qualifies for EB-1.

Is my EB-1 eligibility impacted by whether I have my PhD completion certificate before or after my job start date? I am considering starting the job sooner, and returning a couple months later for my PhD defense.

I really appreciate your replies @JoeF and @INDNewYork. May I ask you both a clarification question?

@JoeF, if I understand you correctly, not having a PhD on my job start date could possibly hamper my EB-1? Is this due to USCIS requirements or more due to how company lawyers categorize cases for hires?

So even if I got my PhD completion certification after 2 months of job start date, this would impact my EB-1? (I just wanted to present the specific scenario I'd face).

From looking at the USCIS requirements on EB-1, there is no mention of PhD or a degree, just accomplishments and recognition in scientific field (reco letters, papers, salary, etc) to demonstrate "extraordinary ability" (this is the category that fits my profile). I'd really appreciate if you could provide just a little insight on how the process works and how the timing of the PhD can have an impact.

@INDNewYork, are you implying that it is okay for the PhD completion date to be after the job start date, and as soon as my PhD is complete I can file 485? Does this mean I can file for I-140 soon after job start, regardless of having PhD in hand?

I really appreciate your replies @JoeF and @INDNewYork. May I ask you both a clarification question?

@JoeF, if I understand you correctly, not having a PhD on my job start date could possibly hamper my EB-1? Is this due to USCIS requirements or more due to how company lawyers categorize cases for hires?