H1 Mumbai 221(g) for PIMS

2user2011

H1(extension) visa interview on 21st Oct 2011.

VO said that she couldnt find my petition in the system and gave me my passport and yellow form with PIMS written on it.

On the next working day(Oct 24th) I got an email to submit my passport as the admin processing was complete. I submitted my passport same day.

Its been more than a week and there is no updates. I have emailed them- no reply. VFS is no help- all they say is that ur passport is still with the consulate.

Anyone in the same situation?

How long does it normally take?

Can you please share your visa experience with rest of the people as I am not seeing much info about Mumbai consulate ?

Thanks In advance!!

I finally got my visa stamped on 3rd nov. 6 working days from submitting passport at the mumbai consulate.

To rommy09- I have a US masters degree. I had worked on H1 with same employer for last 3 yrs. Interview was on Friday 21st Oct. Female VO. Was called to the interview window at 11 am. Appointment was at 11 am.

VO- You going on H4?

Me: No H1

VO: So u came to US on H4 and transferred to H1?

Me : Actually came to US on H4 transferred to F1 then H1

VO: Why do u live in so and so state when u work in so and so state?

Me: I live 40 minutes from my work place in so and so state.

VO: what does your husband do?

Me: xyz

VO: I cant find your petition in the system. It will take 48 hours for it to be updated.

Gave me back passport with the dreaded Yellow 221(g) slip marked PIMS

VO: So enjoy your diwali holidays. We will contact you once we get the info

Me panicking: But I am not here for my holidays. I am only here for visa stamping and I have to get back to work soon as possible.

VO( already called the next person): Just check in 48 hours