H1 stamping in Singapore (not home country) during a business trip

saintforlife

I am an Indian citizen who has been working in the US since 2007 on a H1 visa. I have a Master's degree from the US.

I have a business trip coming up to Singapore that I have to go to, but my H1 stamp on my passport has expired. I have an extended I-797 that is valid till Sep 2013 but I will still need to get a new H1 stamp on my passport before returning back to the US.

My questions:

1) Will the visa officer at the US Embassy in Singapore have any problems with me getting a stamp in Singapore instead of going to India (my home country)? I have no plans of going to India on this trip since it is an official trip (and this is also my first trip to in Singapore). I have invitation letter etc. from the company manager in Singapore who requested my presence there. Is that sufficient reason to convince the visa officer that I need to get my visa stamped in Singapore itself?

2) What support documents will I need to bring with me during my visa interview? (I just started my 5th year of H1. This is the first time I am travelling out of the country since my visa extension in 2010.)

3) Any other tips for a successful visa interview (no admin processing, pink/blue slips etc.)?

Thanks in advance!

Anybody have any experience with stamping in Singapore or any other 3rd country (that is not their home country). I will really appreciate any insight to what documents I will need to bring to make the visa appointment go smoothly.

Thanks!

Hi saintforlife,

I am also having my stamp here in singapore probably by the middle of the month coz im working here. I am not sure on your case though you can email the us embassy in singapore. They reply to you within 1 -2 business days. here is the email address cleardot.gifsupport@ustraveldocs.com

I have emailed them on what are the steps and they replied as follows:

Below are the steps to be followed:

1.Pay the visa fee payment