DV case dismissed without Prejudice

• 2 weeks later...

What I want to know  if this is going to cause  any problem with immigration , I did not plead guilty or took any classes my gf recanted her statement. I asked my criminal defense attorney who has 20 years of experience in criminal defense about this and he said it is the most common dismissal for DV cases which are dismissed before going to trial.

My main concern is if this is going to be an issue for green card or naturalization in the future. 

Hi Everyone,

This Forum has helped in getting some info for my case, So I would like to contribute by sharing the info I have gathered.

Dismissed with Prejudice VS Without Prejudice.

I am not a lawyer this info is found on the web and has a very detailed explanation.

DISMISSAL WITHOUT PREJUDICE

Even though the name implies that the case is “gone forever,” a dismissal without prejudice essentially means “try again.”

If the state’s evidence is weak at the preliminary hearing and the defendant makes a motion to dismiss, the judge often grants the motion without prejudice to refile. So if your criminal case is dismissed without prejudice, the prosecutor may choose to refile the charges. What that said, the state actually has several options:

• Change the Charged Offense: Sometimes, the charge does not fit the facts. For example, over-aggressive prosecutors sometimes file domestic violence charges when there was no protected relationship between the defendant and alleged victim. For example, prosecutors nearly always assume that men and women are either married or dating, even if the facts only marginally support such conclusions.