H1b Extension - RFE 290 days

Manuca84

I've been working with same employer and same client since 2008. My I-140 with same employer under EB2 approved with priority date as Oct 2008.

I successfully got extensions in 2011, 2014 with same employer and client. We filed for the 3rd extension in Oct 2016, Regular processing at Nebraska center with letter from same client.  After 7 months under process, my case was transferred to California center on May 16th.  By that time my i-94 was already expired and as we all know no premium processing was available.

Unexpectedly my contract at this client suddenly ended on June 16th. My 240 days mark arrived on last week of June. I stopped working since then and waiting for the next update on my case. I cannot really start another project or amend  H1B because I'm not authorized to work.  

Finally USCIS sent an RFE today (Aug 1st), as speciality occupation justification at client site based on the client letter we submitted.

I'm in a very tricky situation now.. I cannot submit a client letter/document/justification as response to RFE because I'm neither working for client nor authorized to work until my H1b gets approved.  My priority date is very close to get current in few months but now this H1b RFE became a hurdle..

Anybody faced similar situation. If yes, how did you respond or any suggestions?

@preety84