H1B MTR Pending For 4 Months - CPT option?

h1b MTR2016

Hi All,

My cap subject H1B was denied this year. A motion to re-open was filed in early August. Since August, there have been no updates from USCIS. 

My OPT is valid only till Feb,2017. I'm not even sure how long I can wait for a decision ?My attorneys raised a service request last month. There has been no response from USCIS. 

I'm thinking of applying for second masters to maintain F1 status while MTR is being processed. I read online that MTR case becomes void when I exit the country. I'm not keen on a second degree at all  since this will involve me enroling in shady universities that offer CPT. I guess there's increased scrutiny these days from USCIS for CPT to H1B case. I have a Masters degree from a top university. I don't want to jeopardize my career by enroling in such universities. But my H1B application was filed through a consulting company for a major client company. If I decide not to enroll in a CPT school, will that not impact my H1B application filed for a client company ? Should I bite the bullet and enrol in a first day CPT type shady school to continue working for the existing client?

Please suggest the best options for me at this stage. Thanks. 

Should I bite the bullet and enroll in a first day CPT type shady school to continue working for the existing client?

That is the worst possible option after graduating from a top university. Don't ever think you can get away. If not now, USCIS can scrutinize you for your future H-1 extensions and GC process if you want to take up CPT from day 1 from a shady institution.

Better to consult a good immigration attorney for suggestions.

So, you already know CPT is bad, why are you even thinking about it? Abuse of CPT would kill your career in the US.

Was your degree in a STEM field? If so, you can get a STEM OPT extension.