First H1B visa stamping in Ottawa, Canada.

Ramsandy09

Hi, this is forum is so helpful to me while I was getting ready for my H1b visa process and so now it’s my turn to share my H1B visa experience. I went to Ottawa, Canada to attend my first H1B visa stamping. I did my masters here, have been working on OPT and now I went to get my H1B visa stamped in Ottawa, Canada.

My visa interview date was on July 7th 2016 (Thursday). I drove to Ottawa. I started here on July 6th afternoon and reached hotel in Ottawa by 10 pm. My hotel was 25 min away from US embassy.

Questions asked while entering to Canada:

It was a lady office at the booth (it’s like a toll booth).

I: Good evening officer and I gave her my passport showing Canada visa.

Officer: Good evening. Where are going?

I: Ottawa.

Officer: Why?

I: For tourism purpose and I also have a Visa interview at US embassy.

Officer: ok. You must be having something else then (She forgot the name of the H1B copy i.e I797A).

But I understood what she was asking so I took my I797A form and gave to her.

I: Just laughed and told her it is I797A form.

Officer: ok. She stamped admitted date on my passport and gave my passport back.

And then she told me that I didn’t stop at the stop sign that’s there before going to the booth. She was nice. She told me that I shouldn’t do that while entering to US as US officers at the boarder get mad. She said that and she smiled.

I told her thank you so much and started driving.