Validity of EB1 reference letters

Hello,

I am considering filing the green card application through EB1A.

I have a Masters and a PhD degree from reputed US universities.

7 peer-reviewed publications.

77 independant citations.

I have reviewed 6 journal papers.

A couple of lawyers indicated that I have a low chance of approval in the EB1A category, while a strong case for NIW EB2. I am thinking of taking my chances with the EB1A category anyway and would certainly hire a law firm to represent my case. However, if the I-140 is denied in this category (EB1A), I could apply for the NIW on my own.

Now, my main question is:

What is the expiration date on the recommendation letters that I will be acquiring to support my EB1A petition? If the processing time for EB1A takes 6 months and the petition is denied, by the time I draft a new petition for the NIW case, the letters might be almost a year old.

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

Thank you for the reply.

This means that if I request letters from my referees today and use them for NIW petition 1-2 years later, the letters will still be valid as exhibits. Am I right?

That is correct. Because a referee's opinion about you and your work is not going to change after a year or two.

• 2 weeks later...