H1 Approved during CPT

sumit9881@gmail.com

Hi,

I did my master's  here in USA. After that I registered for PhD course. Due to some reason I had to quit the course and I wanted to join a job. So i  transferred my course to ******* University. There I got CPT and while working on CPT within 2 months I got H1 and then I discontinued my course.  And I was working on H1 for last 3 years and My visa got transferred 2 times in between. 

Just few weeks back I changed job. And I got RFE when my attorney submitted RFE related documents to USCIS, I got an other RFE. This RFE is asking about my all student records, CPTs, paystubs during CPTS.

I am bit worried about  getting H1 from CPT and then quitting the course. Will this affect my visa approval?

Regards,

Sumit

Hi,

I did my master's  here in USA. After that I registered for PhD course. Due to some reason I had to quit the course and I wanted to join a job. So i  transferred my course to ******* University. There I got CPT and while working on CPT within 2 months I got H1 and then I discontinued my course.  And I was working on H1 for last 3 years and My visa got transferred 2 times in between. 

Just few weeks back I changed job. And I got RFE when my attorney submitted RFE related documents to USCIS, I got an other RFE. This RFE is asking about my all student records, CPTs, paystubs during CPTS.

I am bit worried about  getting H1 from CPT and then quitting the course. Will this affect my visa approval?

Regards,

Sumit

Check with your attorney whether you violated any immigration law by doing CPT. If the answer is yes then petition approval is doubtful.

I did not start working on CPT from the day one. During PhD i had already spent one year in college. So when I transferred my course to ******* they told I have already spent an year in college and as per rules I can get CPT after 6 months so they offered me CPT.

Yes It was a legitimate CPT. But  I wanted to get H1. 

So you went from CPT to H1, am I right??