OPT expiring and H1b not filed - options?

zubi1015

Hi,

I finished my MS in Computer Engineering and my OPT began even before I graduated. Right now, my F1 has already expired and my legal status is only a valid OPT. However, my OPT expires in July (no extension allowed thereafter). I haven't been able to find a job yet that sponsors my H1b visa so there's a very slim chance that my H1b will be filed in April. If I wish to stay in the US after my OPT expires, what are the options I have?

Without valid sponsorship from an employer, in a word, none.  When you got your F-1 visa you stated to the USCIS that you would return to your home country upon graduation +/- allowable optional practical training (OPT employment authorization).  You are at a point of needing to following that requirement.  There are no 'bridge' or other temporary visa that allows you to stay in the U.S. simply because that is what you want. 

Hi,

I finished my MS in Computer Engineering and my OPT began even before I graduated. Right now, my F1 has already expired and my legal status is only a valid OPT. However, my OPT expires in July (no extension allowed thereafter). I haven't been able to find a job yet that sponsors my H1b visa so there's a very slim chance that my H1b will be filed in April. If I wish to stay in the US after my OPT expires, what are the options I have?

Nothing. You have to go back after your OPT expires.

• 2 weeks later...

Zubi,

Its not a big deal. I did the same years before. My OPT employer backed out on me by April and i found a good school with dummy course like park safety or something and got an I-20 and did not leave the country. So, do the same and get an I20 from a school and in the mean time find a good consulting firm and apply for h1b.

Thanks,

Nureya

Zubi,