Unpaid leave during govt shutdown

sp.dev

Hello,

Due to the govt shutdown, I am using my PTO. If the shutdown goes longer, my PTO will be exhausted and I will be on unpaid leave. If I am on unpaid leave, does it effect my h1b ? My employer will NOT terminate my job. How long can I continue on unpaid leave ?

Hello,

Due to the govt shutdown, I am using my PTO. If the shutdown goes longer, my PTO will be exhausted and I will be on unpaid leave. If I am on unpaid leave, does it effect my h1b ? My employer will NOT terminate my job. How long can I continue on unpaid leave ?

What has govt. shutdown to do with your unpaid leave?

Hello,

Govt is running out of money, not your H1 employer. So on H1 you need to get paid every month and their nothing called unpaid leave without a genuine reason.

I should have mentioned, I work as a subcontractor on a government project. I am a FT for my company though, so they asked me to use PTO until the project resumes. Now can you tell me ?

Again you are getting paid by your employer and he has to pay you on time when you are on H1. It doesn't matter whether you have a project or not.

if OP is employed by a fed govt entity he/she is affected

@rahul412/@jairichi - not every employer is a private small desi consultancy 

I should have mentioned, I work as a subcontractor on a government project. I am a FT for my company though, so they asked me to use PTO until the project resumes. Now can you tell me ?

My guess is if you work directly for government agency that is shutdown you should be fine. Since it is not the case I believe your employer has to still pay you. 

This is equivalent to an employer paying you on bench even if a project or client is not available

Wait for other members opinion or talk to an attorney.

You need to get paid, even with the government shutdown.

The H1 law does not have any exceptions for this kind of thing.

Consider yourself to be collateral damage of the children in Congress...