Father visiting me on visitor visa

drnishu

Dear friends,

I am a resident physician finishing my training on June 30, 2013 on H1b. Got Cardiology fellowship starting July 1, 2013 for which I still have NOT applied for fresh H1b.

My father just got visitor visa and I am planning to bring him to US to attend my graduation and to stay with me for about three months.

1) Can he face any problem at POA as my H1b is getting expired on June 30, 2013 and if he comes in last week of May. Obviously, I am

the sole responsible person for his stay, food and any other expenses here in US.

2) Does my father has to buy a return ticket before my current H1b expiration date?

3) Can he safely say at the POA that he is planning to stay in US for about THREE months when my current H1b is getting expired on June 30, 2013? .Of course I will be applying for fresh H1b for cardiology fellowship but immigration people do not have this fact with them.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks for your reply. not sure about the $$$ due to the healthcare reform but sure can get $.

Can a person have denial at POA due to lack of proper understanding on american english pronunciation? I am worried my father may not understand everything asked by the VO at POA. Does he again have to prove at POA about his non immigrant intent? It might be difficult for him to explain everything in detail in good english. At the consulate in Mumbai, he had his interview in the local language so things went smooth but how about here???? Any thought?