H1B Stamping for Full-time Position in Vancouver

manssy

I was on F1, OPT, then changed status to H1B, and got it approved. I am Egyptian and considering going to Vancouver for stamping. I have been with my company for 13 months as full-time employee. I got my Masters in Architecture from the US and have about 2 years of experience in the US including teaching graduate course at a US university.

My original plan was stamping in Cairo, Egypt in October. However, I called the consulate over there and they asked for a lot of documentation. Required documents include financial ties to my home country, proof of property ownership in home country, green card or passports of friends (awkward) and relatives living in the US, and passports of wife and children, etc. They didn’t mention anything about if you’re single; they said you HAVE to provide passport of wife even she has not been to US before. I’m afraid they won’t give it to single people. Insane requirement irrelevant to the H1B. I am afraid they don’t issue this type of visa a lot so they might not be familiar with it.

Any advise? Canada or Cairo? Is Vancouver still a good place or people are getting 221g nowadays? any advise on cheap accommodation close to consulate in Vancouver? Advise on obtaining the Canadian Visitors Visa?!

Thanks,

Mo

Any advise? Canada or Cairo? Is Vancouver still a good place or people are getting 221g nowadays? any advise on cheap accommodation close to consulate in Vancouver? Advise on obtaining the Canadian Visitors Visa?!

1) Canada as Cairo has very peculiar requirements.

2) Vancouver is a very nice place but getting a appointment there is a bit difficult these days. I think no appointments are available until Dec 2012. Since you are full time I think your interview will be a cake walk.

3) Cheap accommodation: Search in this forum itself. There are many old threads which has discussions on cheap accommodation there.