PhD in Math, EB1??

I have a PhD in applied mathematics from a US university. I developed algorithms to know all possible solutions for biological recombination mechanisms. These algorithms shorten the experimental time which can take 3 years to complete. My work is very useful in cancer research to understand how cancer cells recombine and replicate.

I have 2 publications in peer reviewed journals. These papers have more than 10 citations in journals like Cell. Collaborating one paper with Japanese mathematicians and writing two more papers.

Currently, I am working in the financial industry for the last 4 yrs as a consultant providing my expertise in quantitative roles.

Do I qualify for an EB1?

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

t75,

there are plenty of people in the financial industry who do not want to work in academia. There are many reasons - money, desire to live in New York City, difficult to find a job in academia, not really interested in research anyway, etc.

As long as you argue that you have world-class expertise and that you are applying or planning to apply this expertise in the United States, it doesn't matter, what degrees you have and where you work. It is relatively straightforward to argue that finance and biology have a lot of similar mathematical applications. (First of all, it is true, and secondly, USCIS doesn't know much about it anyway. Chances are they don't know what an algorithm is, and I am totally serious.)

Academia is not the reason for the response.

OP stated: "I developed algorithms to know all possible solutions for biological recombination mechanisms. ... My work is very useful in cancer research to understand how cancer cells recombine and replicate."

He works in the financial industry,