J1 visa in the US Dilemma

elmeromero

Dear friends,

I have been a canadian permanent resident for the past 3 years working at as a researcher in a University Hospital here.

I have applied for my citizenship a month ago, and at the same time accepted a position in clinical medicine at a University in the US. It would start in June 2012, and it will be on J1 visa (not research J1, because its formal residency training)

I have obtained something called a statement of need from Health Canada (basically its a document stating that canada needs graduates from this specialty to serve in canada, and this essential for J1 application, since I am expected to come back to the place of my last legal permanent residency, which is Canada in my case).

It gets a bit convoluted now, so please bear with me here:

I applied from Toronto to citizenship, usually it would take about 14 months-18 months until I am called in for citizenship test, and after that for the Oath:

I am worried that my J1 visa would not be issued on a multiple entry basis (This aspect is very much subjective and not objective, depending on how the consular official (US one) feels that day!! I know its hard to understand, but its totally up to his/her discretion)

If I had the bad luck of not having the multiple entry status, I would not be able to come for the citizenship test and oath, i may be able to come only ONCE, as it would be too risky coming twice, since I need to apply all over again for J1, and this might take up to a month, and if i am seeing patients on ICU service, for instance, my program would not wait for a month for me to get back there.

I am very distressed, my priority is continue my career in Canada after I am trained in the US, as I love this country, and feel that its the best environment possible for self-fulfillment and good living.