I-140 denied, EB3, 3yr Degree

Manohar2

Nebraska Service Center , I-140, EB3 denied on Education qualification as 3 yr Bsc degree is not equivalent of US Bachelors degree. Only 1 year left to complete 6 yrs on H1 and the approved H1 validity is only for another 6 months. I have following questions.

1. Appealing the denial decision can be made in premium processing ? It took 6 months for them to decide on I-140.

2. Can they (employer) refile PERM (first) and then I-140 in parallel mentioning US Bachelor equivalent degree is not needed for my IT Analyst work?

3. My H1B can be extended for another 6 months while my I-140 denial is in appeal and while filing a separate PERM/I-140?

I have 10 years of experience in IT and is almost 2+ years with my present employer (consulting firm).

Thanks in advance.

I have exactly gone thru the same situation back in 2008. My 140 was denied due to 3yrs. bachelors degree but the issue was that my attorney did not file the labor correctly. They did not even use the word equivalent anywhere so it was a straight forward doomed case. I was already past my 6yrs. H1B quota but till date I was able to extend my H1B(latest was Apr. 2011) based on pending appeal with AAO. The bottom line is that as long as you appeal this case and its in pending status you can keep extending your H1B.

1. I don't think there is any option to file an appeal in premium processing. The latest I know is AAO cases for EB3 are taking somewhere bet. 34-36 months. I filed for appeal back in 2008 and withdrew that in Aug. of this year. It was pending throughout.

2. To my understanding a PERM cannot be re-filed with new updates(please confirm with attorney as I am not sure).