CPT Policy

Anusha M

I am a Master's Student, on a F1 Visa, at the U of M, Ann arbor and I recently received a Co-Op (7 month Internship)offer over the Summer/Fall term 2019 , in a company in New York.

I am currently in my 2nd semester, and can finish my course my Dec 2019. To get full time CPT for this Co-Op, I am required to be registered in the Fall term at my university, taking up at least some minimum credits and courses.

I was hoping to seek some answers regarding the following doubts,

1.I wanted to know, if it is mandatory to be physically present on campus for the courses you are taking to be maintain F-1 while doing the Co-Op? 

2. Is taking up courses such as Independent study, where you can report to your advisor remotely, accepted as the course requirement?

5 hours ago, pontevecchio said:

One wonders as to the antecedents of that reply . Are we being trolled over a sustained period of time?

It is quite obvious that Noah Lott is not familiar with universities in the US. UMich, Ann Arbor (nobody really calls it U of M) is, last I looked, #27 on the USA Today list of top national universities. Maybe he needs to go to a UMich football game, best against Ohio State 😉 (a former boss, who went to Ohio State, mentioned to me that he would pay for his daughter's college education no matter where she would go, except UMich Ann Arbor; the rivalry is that strong...)

In fact, one of my personal friends was, as an undergrad at UMich, Ann Arbor, room mate with a certain Larry Page, who later, as a graduate student at Stanford, launched Google with his fellow Stanford graduate student Sergey Brin, who immigrated to the US as a child with his family from the Soviet Union ... Immigrants are good for the US.