here is my situation- 

History-

2001-2007 F1 visa

2007-2010 - original H1b filed by a major retail pharmacy chain 

May 2009 - PERM priority date

2010-13, 2013-16, 2013-19 H1b renewals. 

Nov 2018 - company filed i 485

Dec 26, 2018 - Biometrics

Currently waiting for AED and Interview letter in mail.

Problem- My store is closing March 12th.

I work as a pharmacist with a large retail chain Pharmacy. My company is trying to retain me as I have been a good employee with tons of experience (11.5 years with same company). But no positions are open at this time. I have my fingers crossed that they will come up with a position for me. 

I’m also married to a USC since Sept 2016 but never filed for marriage based GC as it was evident that i will get it thru employer before my current H1 expires in September. 

Q 1. I called my company lawyer so see if they can also file i 485 marriage based just in case if I don’t get the job and employment based i 485 is rejected. That way i may still stay in US in status. She said I will have to retract the employment based i 485 if i wanna switch to marriage based.. is that true? I thought we can file multiple i 485 without any negative effect on each application. 

Q 2. If i find a job with another employer, with same job duties (pharmacist at a major retail chain) what do i do to amend my file to reflect job change? It’s only been like 2.5 months since i 485 filing. 

Q 3. I will get 11 week severance if I’m not offered a new position with current company.  Would that time frame count as in-status for H1b?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. 

Thanks.

I have heard that it is possible to have multiple I-485. You wouldn't need a company attorney to do it; family-based AOS is pretty straightforward and you and your spouse can file I-130 and I-485 yourselves. And you don't need to be in status at the time you file in your category.