Full time CPT in fall semester

ashu2703

Hello Dear,

I'm a grad student on F-1 visa. I've done full time CPT in summer, which is extended by the company for the fall semester. I have 8 credits left (2 for CPT, 6 course credits), and this is my final semester. 9 credits are required for full time enrollment. Can I work on full time CPT in fall with 8 credits left? And my company is in a different state (non commutable) than my school. Would it have any issues later on? Or should I opt for part time CPT.

Thank you

Ashu,

Is this your first Grad course in the USA?  If so, then you will not be eligible for OPT upon completion of grad course if you have worked on CPT for more than 1 year. 

if this is your second or subsequent grad course, then follow your college's CPT policy rules.  CPT is an integral part of the course work.  Your professor and DSO will determine your eligibility for CPT. 

Lately, we have seen issues like RFEs for candidates working on CPT for an extended period of time.  You may also face some of those issues until changes take place at administration level.

5 hours ago, pontevecchio said:

Run your scenario by a lawyer as you have to abide by F1 rules for full time enrollment. You need to find a way to move away from this scenario as future visas may become impossible. Which College are you attending?

Thanks for the reply, Pontevecchio. Could you please help me what could go wrong if I do only a part time CPT? My only concern is I won't be able to attend on campus classes since the city of my office location is different from my university.

6 hours ago, satya2k1 said:

Ashu,

Is this your first Grad course in the USA?  If so, then you will not be eligible for OPT upon completion of grad course if you have worked on CPT for more than 1 year.