Canadian Permanent Resident Travel Document Stamp in Passport

trom

Hi- I am a US Green card holder residing in the US for 20 years and going to apply for US Citizenship. I am also a Canadian permanent resident and need a Permanent Resident Travel Document (PRTD) stamped in my passport to visit Canada for a 5 day holiday. Will that Canadian stamp be problematic for me during the US citizenship interview? I am concerned what the officer may determine if they see the Canadian Residency new stamp in my passport, although I have been continuously residing in the US for past 20 years and have no intent on going back to Canada other than for short holidays. Please advise. Thanks.

You can't have US Permanent Residency and Permanent Residency of another country. The US considers this as abandoning US Permanent Residency. That very likely will come up in the citizenship interview, and you may be looking at denial of the citizenship application and revocation of the US Green card. It would probably be best to give up Canadian residency. And discuss your situation with a good immigration lawyer before the interview.