Non immigrant family issue

anonymous anonymous

Hi,

I'm from India and I have H4 visa. However, I did not travel to USA after my marriage due to my husband's reluctance to take me along after I obtained my H4. My husband has not communicated to me from the past 6 months and I'm married for over a year now. His parents in India are forcing me & threatening me to sign a mutual divorce which I do not want to do. I am planning to obtain student visa this month and I still have 4 months of H4 visa validity left as his H1 is set to expire in April. I am not sure if he got H1B extended.He is working as a senior engineer for a very reputed company in USA.

In these circumstances,is it advisable for me to travel to USA on H4 and seek legal help. If I travel on student visa, will I be at a disadvantage when it comes to marital legal matters .  I have no knowledge of legal policies in USA and am quite confused as to what step I should take.I'm feeling extremely helpless right now. Kindly advise me.

Thanking you,

Anoynymous

1) looks like your intent is to patch up with your husband and save the marriage

2) unless you got strong interest in continuing studies in US, there is no meaning in getting this visa only to address the first point from above.

3) you mentioned you already got Visa, meaning stamped and you can fly to US.  If so, you should be knowing where he is working and his address whereabouts, this is needed at POE and immigration check-in India as well.

4) if you come on H4, you can still find similar options like now i.e., by converting your H4 while you are in US to B2 or F1 or even H1 if you have a professional background and a willful employer to file for your work-permit and you get lucky to get your application picked up for this process.

5) There are no special advantages in obtaining a Student visa to come here to save your marriage.  However, there are both pros and cons here: