Approved I-140

Raj99

I have an approved I -140 from company A in EB2. I'm with Company B in H1B , they initiated my GC but in EB3, telling there are some salary constraints and later will be upgraded to EB2

Question

1- I have a 4 years degree and 10 + years of years. With a wage of 70+ k per year shouldn't I qualify for EB2? 

2- I had a H1B from 2012, and I moved to USA in 2014 Jan and now my H1B expires in Jan 2017. Can I stay in USA using my I-140 from Company A. If yes, can I work w/ Company B. If I had to visit india, should I have any issues w/ stamping ? Or is it recommended I get my H1B extension filed or EB3 GC process which my Company B wants to do?

• 3 months later...

Raj99,

What was the reason to move from a job with EB-2 to a job with EB-3? Seems like your employer did not tell you that it is going to be EB-3. Since you were already on EB-2, you are eligible-we can assume that.

It is tactic employer use so they can utilize expertise of high level employee (EB-2), start green card application in EB-3 category so it will take forever. If in between employee make request to reconsider application to EB-2, restart the process and all time you taken so far will be waste. The good news for you is that you have a priority date from you first application. With second application, you can still request to use that PD so at least your time will not be lost.