changing careers after I-140 and still keep the priority date

ivar_m

I am a hardware engineer with May 2011 PD (EB2 category) and I am currently in my 7th year of H1B.When my company filed for my GC, The job description has all hardware engineering requirements. I have  been working on some software projects in my current job and I was wondering if I can join  a new company as a software engineer and still keep my priority date ?

How much does the job description matter ?

Should the new job profile be similar for AC21 portability ?

What are the risks associated with changing the job profile at this stage ? 

• 4 weeks later...

1. Job description matters only for new GC application.

2. similar job profile is also more important at the I -485 stage of GC where you can use AC21. Job profile while Changing job at this stage using AC21 is not that critical as a new H-1b will be filed and approval will be based on your qualifications.

3. No risks if you can show that you qualify for new job profile.

• 4 weeks later...

Have a similar question but my career change is not just a change of skills but a completely different career. 

I have an approved I-140 with current PD. Petition was filed in old career (mech engineer) but since then have moved to Canada, changed careers (now in corporate/business mgmt) and am a Canadian citizen now.

-- Can I use the approved I-140 to transfer to a different employer in the new career field?

-- Also, since I am outside of US I have the case in NVC (consular processing route, not EAD)

- TN status is an option for me to work in US but would like to move ahead with a green card instead, and then hopefully work on my own

• 2 months later...

I am in a similar situation