Successful Visa Stamping {First H1(General Caetogry)} @ Vancouver, Canada on Sep 30, 2014

tmreddy

Hello, 

All the best for people heading for stamping. I will pendown my experience.

I attended the interview for H1B. This is my First H1-B. I completed my masters in Canada and applied H1-B from Canada.

Many people described in the forums/blogs that you should be 30min prior to appointment time. Its safe to be early but not mandatory.

I was 30min LATE and they did not say anything. Here in vancouver, its first come first serve and you dont need to worry if you are late.

People coming for interview from outside of vancouver: Try to prefer TAXI instead of rental car sometimes its hard to find parking in downtown if your appointment is in the business hours.

There are lockers at athe Consulate(FREE) for your mobile and car key.

I was in at 8:30am for 8 am interview.

1st step: Security check - Asked for Appointment printout, DS 160, 797 & Passport.

2nd step: I left my mobile at the lcokers, they verified the ID proof(Passport) and noted down my cell and gave a key to it. when you're done with interview you can come back to the same place and collect your items.

3rd step: Security check and they let you in. They will check your DS160 and passport. 
                  They asked me whether this is my first H1-B?
                  My status in Canada?

4th step: They issued a token number after checking passport and DS160.

(My photo was not acceptable so they asked me to get a new photo in a small photo booth in the same floor in consulate and instructions led, easy to follow them(Charge : $10).

I went back to the receptionist there and gave new photos and,DS 160, 797, Passport. They took all of them and asked me to take a seat. A lady came back to me after 5min and gave it to me and asked me to go to counter C (Finger Printing)

You now wait and then get your fingerprints done here.