How well can I pin my employer for violating labor laws on compensation and benefits???

pranaykumar

Can anyone help me understand how stronger is my case and when and how to react on this. Should I start filling WH4 before it is too late , or wait as I am planning to go to vacation in India for December.

Background :

I started working for a Desi consultant in Virginia as soon as I graduated in May 2011. I was in OPT and the offer letter stated that my base pay is 51K and not major benefits are detailed.

Employer immediately placed me in a Forture 100 company as a QA analyst . There was a prime vendor between my employer and client . After joining I slowly worked through the system and started working in lead/managerial roles ( no direct reports) and working on project execution , facilitation , process compliance verification roles .

I was on OPT and I was never worried about my pay for almost an year , then I was a bit concerned and approached my employer on phone about my pay concern ( Since he was from same region in India we use to have conversations on phone). I never got any positive response all I hear is Prime vendor not paying him well , so he cannot afford to give me any benefits.

In April 2012 he filed for my H1b and took 5000 USD by cash and the exchange happened in a suspicious way . There might be some proof that he got the money , but it will be a weak case .

I left to India as there was a query on OPT , and at the USCIS office they recommended me to take that action to not go out of status till october 2012. I never recieved any pay as I was not working at client .

Then I went to India and had tons of trouble in getting my h1b stamped and my employer did not help me in this aspect. I had to work a lot convincing people at my client to get the client letter and finally my H1b was approved to be started in October 2013.