H-1B to Green Card process

Hi folks,

I am in need of an urgent help.

I am currently working as a Civil Designer/Traffic Analyst with a Civil Engineering company called in Las Vegas from October 2008 till date. I am currently on H-1B visa and my wife is on H-4. We have a daughter who was born here (US citizen) in 2012. I graduated with a Master’s Degree from US University in the field of Civil Engineering. I am originally from India.

Currently, I am on my 6th year of H-1B and my visa is going to expire on September 30, 2014. My employer started my Green Card process 2 months ago. My employer did the first step of the Green Card process which is Prevailing Wage Determination.

However, it was determined that prevailing wages is around 1.5 times my current pay. That high pay is only given to highest level of civil engineers with 15+ years of experience in the field on Civil engineering.  I only have 5 years of experience in Civil Engineering field. We are not sure how to correct this issue. We would like to get help resolving this issue and my employer is planning to hire an immigration lawyer and to process further steps.

My employer would want to write a letter to re-evaluate the salary. The initial process took almost 2.5 months and we are not sure how long the re-evaluation will take.  The biggest problem is the time frame as I only have 5 more months left on my H1B. Considering all the vacation I have taken during the 5 years on H1B, I may be able to get an extension of another 3 more months.

I would like to know what options do I have to stay legally and possible solutions to this issue. Here are some of my questions.

1. Is it better to apply for a fresh application for Prevailing Wage Determination or to write a letter?

2. If my wife finds a job and goes on H1B, I can change my status to H4. In that case, can my current employer still process my application while I stay in USA?