H1b Extension Stamping from Ottawa on April 17, 2013 - 221g issued

StuckinOttawaApr17

Hi all,

I work for a top IT company as full time employee in US. This company has been my first company ever since I started my career in India and I have close to 7 years of experience with it now. I spent 2.5 yrs earlier in US on L1 Blanket visa with same company, then went to India for 1 year and came back to US on a fresh H1b visa last year via same company. First H1b stamping was in Chennai in 2012 and it was very smooth experience with no issues, but I was issued only 1 yr of H1b visa at that time due to USCIS giving only 1 yr approval on my initial I797. Applied for H1b extension 6 months ago while in US and it got approved for another 3 yrs with no issues/questions from USCIS. I also have my I-140 approved from same company as well.

As my first H1 stamp expired in Jan,2013 - I needed a new stamp for me and as my wife(we got married 4 months ago only) and in-laws live in Canada from many yrs, I chose to get my H1b Extension Stamping(along with first H4 stamping for my wife) from Ottawa on April 17, 2013.

I had all supporting documents with me including new I797, LCA(which has never been changed since I am on H1 status), company support letter, client letter, marriage certificate etc.

The visa interview was as follows:

Only original I797 was taken by officials before the finger print and interview window - No other document asked for or questioned on.

After going to window which we got called for, after the initial morning wish by us .. the visa officer asked me - Is H1b the visa type you are here for?

I replied, yes.. it is H1b extension stamping.

He then typed something on the computer for just few seconds and then returned my I797, mine and my wife's passports and issued a 221g Blue form - mentioning that they need to do some admin processing and will email me for next steps.