EB2 education dilemma

Hi

I have my 3 years BSc. in Physics and AMIE in Mechanical Engineering from India. My current company lawyer says even though my job responsibilities qualifies under EB2 category, my education qualification does not qualify for EB2 GC application as per USCIS.

I am on my H1B extension, I have I140 approved in 2007 under EB2 from previous employer.

I am working on my online MS IT - Security specialization from an accredited US university. Normal graduation duration is 18-20 months, but as my grades are quite high, I am allowed to take multiple courses at the same time and that would reduce the total duration if I am able to maintain the required GPA. 

Questions - 

1. Will my MSIT be good enough to file my new petition under EB2 (job qualifies for EB2) 
2. Do I still need to show my India qualification (non-IT/Computers), I would rather not when filing for fresh EB2
3. If I complete my MSIT faster than normal duration, will that impact my EB2 application negatively. 

Appreciate your advice.

On 11/5/2016 at 0:43 AM, JoeF said:

They require a 4-year bachelor + Masters for EB2.

And in any case, if you are working in the job without these qualifications, it shows that it is an EB3 job.

Hi Joe,

Can you answer my questions wrt #1,2,3,

specifically #3 is important to me at this point if you have any facts backing your answer.

I think I don't need anything else other than a MS qualification from US University - #1 or #2 as I checked the USCIS website later on.

Quote from USCIS website - https://www.uscis.gov/working-united-states/permanent-workers/employment-based-immigration-second-preference-eb-2